1. Health

Luteal Phase of the Menstrual Cycle


Updated June 03, 2014

Office worker marking calendar with red pen
Image Source/Getty Images
Definition: The luteal phase of the menstrual cycle begins on Day 14, after ovulation occurs and continues until Day 1 of your next period. Remember, Day 1 is the day your period starts.

During the luteal phase of the menstrual cycle, estrogen and progesterone increase, and work together to create changes in the lining of the uterus that prepare it to accept an embryo, should conception occur. When conception (or pregnancy) does not occur, estrogen and progesterone levels decline, and the lining of the uterus, called the endometrial lining, begins to shed, which leads to menstruation.

The first of the two phases of the menstrual cycle is called the follicular phase

Also Known As: premenstrual phase, ovulatory phase
Common Misspellings: lutul phase
The luteal phase occurs from Day 14 of the menstrual cycle until the first day of your next period.
  1. About.com
  2. Health
  3. Women's Health
  4. Women's Health Glossary
  5. Luteal Phase of the Menstrual Cycle

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.

We comply with the HONcode standard
for trustworthy health
information: verify here.